The State of the Gunpla Union – 060209

Well, looks like we’re falling into regular “life” style blogging for the time being.  I’ve not touched my Zaku II build at all over the last week, as work has just been depressingly busy.

It doesn’t help that the sucky economy has decided to visit personally and deprive my wife of a job… While the news and analysts are saying things are looking to get better, the situation in Japan is getting to be very bad for the common citizen.  It seems that according to Hello Work, which is the unemployment agency run by the government, there is about 100 people to 1 available job, and that only 1 in 4 people who have been laid off since the start of the year have been able to find new employment.  On top of that, we now have North Korea officially deciding to throw a childish fit, and for all we know the Korean Peninsula could be at war before the summer is out. 

In brighter news, I got to go to the MTV VMA’s here in Japan thanks to a work connection.  While MTV is pretty much crappy in the US now (do they even play music anymore?)  MTV here is decent in that they play music videos still.  It was neat to be there and see the red carpet, and I got to see Green Day, Blackeyed Peas, and so on.  The coolest thing about it though was actually seeing the live performances, but also seeing how they were being broadcast live, with really impressive camera work and editing.  The only downer was that it was held at the Saitama Super Arena, which ended up being almost 2 hours away from Yokohama.  But it was free, so I can’t complain.

DSC04691

Also saw Star Trek as it came out in the theaters.  I know some people think the time travel device used to reset the series was kind of a cop out, but I think it worked out great, and so far Star Trek is my fav move of the year (until Transformers 2 most likely)

In Gundam news, absolutely nothing new.  I picked up the new Gundam Ace, to follow the Origin and that’s it.  Next week we’ll see the release of the HG Hi-nu Gundam which I might just make my first HG purchase, just for the purpose of putting it on my desk at work.  Of course, I need to get around to finishing my MG version of it… Now that I think about it though, I’ve never built an HG model so it’ll be interesting to see what kind of build it will be.  Other than that, still kind of meh about the MG Exia, think I’ll either want to wait until I see it on display when it’s released, or if my usual source of cheapness will put it out for around 2,000 yen.  Am planning on heading out to Odaiba to see the giant Gundam when it’s completed, but most likely that’ll be July.

 With the rainy season starting most likely from next week, it’ll be good to sit down and get back to some gunpla building, but will see.  Not a burnout, but just haven’t had the quality time to sit down and build, be it snap build or not.

One thought on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 060209

  1. Looking forward to the HGUC release of the Hi-Nu as well, despite having built the MG already. Thinking about breaking in to the 1/144th kits as well with a Sazabi and Nu gundam, but I’m still not sure if I’ll cave and get the MG versions instead.

Leave a Reply

