The State of the Gunpla Union – 033111

Much like GaiGun, I’ve not found the desire to blog or gunpla in the recent weeks following the Tohoku earthquake.  To be honest, I’ve done not much of anything aside from work and coming home and watching the news.  No gaming, no gunpla, not following the latest gunpla news or anything.  As I mentioned before, thankfully everyone at my company was safe, but there arose the situation where people were still affected by loss of homes or family.  Also, as a former JET, I was saddened to hear about the loss of a JET member as well.  This earthquake, tsunami, nuclear crisis, and rolling black outs affecting the Kanto region will continue to affect things for the long term it seems.  But life goes on, right?  We pick up and rebuild, and even if I wasn’t directly affected, I need to pick up and go forward.  I’m happy that the efforts I’m doing at work is going to help our employees and those affected.

And with that said, let’s get back to the Gunpla!  Moping around isn’t going to get these kits built.  March obviously didn’t see much done, but I have started on one thing…

Yep, doing the PG Strike Freedom got me in the PG mood and I’ve started on the PG GP01.  Yeah, I know I need to get back to finishing up the PG Strike Freedom as well.  As you see, it’s looking big and pretty here.  In fact, it’s so big that it will be pretty hard to take good pictures with my current setup most likely.

But yeah, the goal is to actually get some stuff taken in April, as we’ll be doing some spring cleaning and rearranging a couple of our rooms.   With that said, I’m debating on what to do with some of my older already built kits.  Not that I’m going to throw anything out, but my original backlog was somewhat of a giant lot of stuff I got cheap, and in that were a few kits that I just built and that was it.    So, I may be passing on those kits to people who might want to take them and make them something special.  This is just something floating around my head right now, so I’m not sure how this will work out.  Of course, by reading that, you may think I’m getting out of Gunpla or something.  I’m not, but priorities are priorities, and Gunpla has always been somewhat of an escape for me.  Now with a job that keeps me busy, and that I actually really like, I’m having less time to build then before.  There is also a Gentei kit coming in July that I’m saving up for too, so  I’m thinking about that too.  But no worries, the gunpla is still going on, just not as much.

Of course there are kits on my radar coming up.  As mentioned last month, I’m looking forward to both the MG Epyon and RG Strike.

MG Epyon

RG Strike

The RG Strike especially looks like it’s going to be amazing if the pictures aren’t lying.  If anything, the Strike might be the first real look at what the RG line is capable of.  When you really stop to think about it, the RX-78 Gundam is as about as simple as it gets, and the Zaku-II as well.  So the Strike might be the line’s real chance to shine.  Other than these two kits though, there’s not much else coming out at this point that has got me excited, or that I can really concentrate on

While it’s a bit of a short post this time around, I figured it’s good to get back on the ball, even if it’ll take a while to get back into things.   We’ll see how April goes!

2 thoughts on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 033111

  1. Onward and upward mate. Are you going to complete the GP01 as the full burner/vernier? I will eventually buy this kit and build it minus the full burner/vernier parts. I just prefer the look of it.

    What is this gentei kit in June that you speak of??

Leave a comment