The State of the Gunpla Union – 013111

Welcome to the first SOTGU of 2011.  It has been a busy month and and before you know it, 1/12 of 2011 is already done.  Also, technically the 2nd anniversary of ASM has come and gone as well.  I don’t really go out of my way to celebrate or anything, I’m just happy to be going along at my own pace, with those who like to tag along.  But still, it’s always nice to have more people tag along, and so I’ve linked to my facebook ASM on the left side of the main page.  Feel free to stop by, favorite it, and make new friends.  In fact, due to me figuring out how to post from the iPhone, the facebook page will likely be updated with various picture updates and tidbits faster than the blog.  So, consider it more of a real time tool to catch up with what I’m doing.  There may be other slight updates around the site going forward depending on the time.

As for current Gunpla, I continue on with the PG Strike Freedom, and I’ve finished the wings and dragoons… finally.  It seems that most kits must have some area of tedium, be it weapons block, decal block, or in Strike Freedoms case, 8 wings and dragoons to build.  Still, that next WiP will be up sometime this week so look forward to it.  After I finish up the wing joint fix, it’ll be time for initial photos、followed by planning on how to finish up the frame and all that, with decals and finishing up with top coat.  If anything, I see the final touch ups taking up quite a bit of time, but we’ll see.

People may also not that the MG ReZel is finished, but I’ve held off on it because I accidently lost the tiniest part of them all, the V part for the waist.  A replacement part will be heading my way shortly, which means I can finally finish off this kit.

So going forward, what’s on the Gunpla forefront for me?  Well, I’d like to knock out the RG Zaku II, but I have an idea kicking around for the long overdue Musha Mk. II.  Of course, I’m also on a bit of a PG kick too, and after seeing the latest Dengeki Hobby homage to 0083, I think I might need to go ahead and knock out the GP01 that is sitting up high on my backlog.  There are also rumblings for a 2011 GaiGun/ASM Collaboration, but nothing certain just yet, we’re both juggling quite a bit as is between work, family, and CoD.  Thankfully, there really isn’t much coming out that I’m interested in at this point that should distract me.  Or at least  so I thought!  On my current interest lists:

Gundam Deathscythe Hell – I’m glad that I waited.  While the wings at full extension look a bit odd, it looks good when closed up tighter.  The darker color scheme is also great as well.

Extreme Gundam – This one kind of came out of the blue for me.  I was interested in the design when I saw the first prototype, but the combination of blue and white, with the clear metallic blue highlights have made this a definite pick up.

I will also say I’m intriqued by the upcoming HGUC kits for Gundam UC as well.  In particular the ECOAS Jegen and the Dreissen, but other than those two, there is nothing on my radar for a while.  In regards to Wing Gundam MG kits, I’ll be waiting for Heavy Arms, but the rest of the lineup is a pass at this point.  What with the next episode of Gundam Unicorn out in less than 2 months, I would hope for another MG follow-up, but Bandai is laying low and going the HG route by the looks of it.

Somewhat of a shorter SOTGU this month, but the PG Strike Freedom has dominated most of my Gunpla time, and the upcoming spring kits look to be so so at this point for me.  I guess with 2010 wrapping up Gunpla’s 30th year anniversary, 2011 will be quite a ho-hum year perhaps.

Any thoughts on how this year will go for Gunpla, and what are you all looking forward too?

7 thoughts on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 013111

  1. Lotta good stuff coming down the pipe. Are you just straight-building the SF or do you have some custom colorscheme in mind? The ReZEL turned out good, sucks about the part…seems a few of us from the groupbuild are plagued by disappearing parts.

    As far as the MG Wing Gundams go, I’ll probably get the early-type versions instead of the Endless Waltz suits just because I liked the TV Series more…and barring Bluefin somehow convincing Bandai that MG TV versions would sell like hotcakes here it’s probably as close as I’ll get.

    This is gonna be a year of a few gunpla purchases, I’ve reall gotta crunch down on my backlog…I’m feeling all those PG Kits I have sitting around half finished…but the MG Red Frame and RG Zaku II is calling to me too…perhaps a Real Grade group build will be in order once we’re done with our ReZELs, eh?

  2. I’m with Lupes here on the GW TV versions but I will not pass on the MG Deathscythe Hell, but I would kill for a MG Wing Zero TV version as it’s my favorite suit of the series.

    The Extreme Gundam looks like a good buy aside from the weird V-fins it has, I feel like I will buy it and then fix them to my liking.

  3. @Lupes: I’m just straightbuilding the PGSF. I guess I have this bit of a block on attempting to do any major recolor on a PG simply because 1) thats a lot of paint needed for a PG and 2) Its also a huge investment to screw up. As for the ReZel, yours is looking hot sir, like I said, all the more reason to invest in an AB… On Wing kits, I kind start confusing myself with all the versions now that I’m just going to stay away I think, lol.

    Lastly, on the RG, I think I’m going to do a straight build on it. Depending then I could consider a second one for a GB, but not sure at this point. It is a Zaku, so anything works, right? But I also have like 4 MG Zaku’s to build still…

    @Zeta Newtype: I actually hadn(t noticed the V fin as much. Considerring 00Raiser and other Gundams have similar double V style heads, I tend to just gloss over it. But definitely changing things is always fun.

  4. im looking forward to the ecoas (echoes?) and driessen myself. granted i wont be buying them on release day i really want to see what people do with them. I’m sure i’ll get around to picking them both up someday. i really dont think i can just let them go.

  5. Man the ReZEL has gotta be the unluckiest kit ever! You and Lupes both lost parts, I warped a piece, GaiGun had continual woes, and many others in the GB are breaking bits or losing them. Amazing.

    I didn’t know about the Dengeki 0083 homage. being my fave serioes I’ll have to look it up.

    I think GaiGun may have mentioned I’m coming over in May. Love to meet up if you are available. Drop me a line 😉

  6. @Sonar: Definitely know what you mean about the ReZel, good kit, but seems to be giving a lot of people trouble. As for May, I’ve heard from GaiGun and am already planning to be in Tokyo for an Akihabara meet-up. Will drop you a mail soon!

    • Nice! Looking mega forward to this, and hoping GaiGun can make it too! I’ll look out for your mail. No rush mate I know you’re busy.

Leave a Reply

