The State of the Gunpla Union – 113110

Before you know it, it’s the end of the month again (give or take a few days….^_^:;) November ended up being quite a bit busier than I expected on the real life end and quite a few factors kept me from the website and Gunpla.  But let’s get on with the how things are in the state of the Gunpla Union.

First up, as I mentioned last month, my PS3 bit the dust and I sent it off for repairs in hopes that they wouldn’t have to do anything that would involve wiping my hard drive and nearly 4 years of saves.  Unfortunately, that was not the case, so rather than having them fix it, I opted to have it returned and will attempt a fix myself in order to try and save my data.  But considering there is a chance that I’ll screw it up, I went ahead and picked up a new PS3slim, and have immediately been sucked into Black Ops, especially now that GaiGun himself is playing.  Nightly matches of domination and Zombies means less time for website, gunplay, or sleep at this point.  Of course, add in my back log of Assassin’s Creed, Castlevania, Medal of Honor, DJ Hero 2, and the upcoming Gundam Musou 3, and I start debating skipping sleep all together…

Our new (blue) son

Other than that, I’ve also been shuttling back and forth to Tokyo for projects and work on a weekly basis, and that has actually been cutting into my weekends.  Again I’ll be in Tokyo for this week and next weekend for work, but I’ve secured time to meet up with my drinking partner, Gaigun, in Akiba.  Now that I think about it, we’ll be meeting up on the day of the PG Strike Freedom drop, so we’ll be able to see firsthand how popular it is.

It’s definitely looking good! 

So unfortunately, it looks like things are going to be a bit busy for me in December as well, between work, gaming, and the Japanese penchant for end of the year parties (I’ve already got 5 on my list..)  So I guess I need to forgo not only sleep, but my liver as well….  But, onto the Gunpla stuff!! I actually did manage to finish a few kits in the first part of November, so all that’s left is photos.  I also did manage to get some new kits so I guess that puts me at plus/minus zero for the month…  First up, some completed things (and upcoming (truly, yes, I will do this) photo shoots) include the following kits.

More Eco-pla HG kits!

And a bit of orange to go with that black 

Yeah, I jumped on that bandwagon too (and hand painted the gold at that) 

While I finished the above, I still have the MG ReZel that I’m working on with the folks at the GAF GBP thread.  Currently I’m exactly where I was last time, with the legs finished, and all the other pieces snipped out.  I just need to paint, and do so light after market parts work.   The goal is to get this done in the next couple of weeks if possible.

MG ReZel

So why do I want to get this done?  Well, the major reason is that the PG Strike is dropping in less than two weeks, and I’m ready to jump on it.  PG’s definitely take time though, so I want to clear off my work table of all current kits before I dive into that monster.  Of course, there is a couple of other small kits I want to try and squeeze in there if possible.

Selling like hotcakes, and for some reason, I want to build this more than the RG Gundam…

More (or is it less since it’s Mini?) Hoi-hoi

And yeah, I went there. 

Honestely, I like the box art for the Linkin Park HG kit.  I think because it’s more of the realistic portrayal of the members more than anything else.  But that’s my current gunpla status.  The main goal in December though is to get the photo shoots for all the done kits out of the way, finish the ReZel, and jump into a WiP for the PG Strike.  What’s on everyone else’s plates this holiday season?

7 thoughts on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 113110

  1. Nice SOTGU read again. I am looking forward to the PG Strike Freedom. A busy december for me as well, not only is the webstore keeping me busy, but also will be flying back to HK to visit my dying aunt. Had thought of dropping by japan on the way back, but the mood to do that is just not there. Perhaps will come by during next year’s Tokyo Toy Show.

    I probably won’t get a chance to build anything at this time. =( I also got Black Ops, but only fired it up twice since I got it.

    Have a great holiday bro.

  2. @Tom: Black Ops has definitely been addicting. I’m still tossed up if i like MW/MW2 better for overall presentation though. But multiplayer has been fabulous this time because I actually have a team to play with, who are in the same time zone. I might actually prestige for once.

    @Sonar & Aya: It’s on the table and happening soon!

    @Madmoz: Hoi-hoi seems to be a popular kit to recolor, as I’ve seen tons of recolors listed in Dengeki and at Kotobukiya’s actual store. I think it7s pretty easy to do because of it’s small size and small amount of pieces that actually need to be painted.

    @GG: Sorry to hear about your Aunt, but hope you enjoy your time with her and family at home. Hopefully we’ll find somewhere to meet up again next year

    @gunpla4ever: It’s near the top of the backlog stack!

Leave a Reply

