An American Bum in Tokyo

Well, as those familiar with Japan know, April is the start of the “new year” in Japan, with school, work, and fiscal things all starting anew from April 1st.  Guess it has something to do with Spring right, the cherry blossoms, things coming back to life, etc.  Sometimes it feels really strange to me, despite living here for now over 7(!) years total.  But, when in Rome, do as the Romans do, right?

This year in particular has somewhat of a special significance as well to me, as from April, technically I will be starting on a “new journey” so to say.  I do apologize for the roundabout way of saying it, but technically I’m an American Bum in Tokyo right now.  After working over 3&½ years with my company, economic situations and future prospects have led me (and others in my company) to part ways and go on our own separate paths.  Ahem, short story, I’m unemployed now.  How am I taking it?  Quite well compared to some of my co-workers, but I feel leaving any type of job, no matter the circumstances, whether good or bad (and mine was fairly good) is tough.  The positive side is that I was starting to come to a wall where I was, and this is a good chance to focus on moving forward in my career, and maybe getting a less stressful job.   Due to the nature of things, I’ll leave my unemployment woes at that, but for the time being, I’ve got a lot of free time on my hands while I search for something new.  But before that, small vacation!  I’ll be doing some traveling in Asia and maybe around Japan for the next couple of weeks.

The first thing I’m thinking about is to change things around here.  Obviously this will be a work in progress, but I’m thinking about going with a  brighter theme this time around, while moving some of the more popular categories up top to specific page tabs that I’ll flush out going forward.  Currently just working out things in my head, but will see what happens after I get back from vacation.  On the Gunpla side, I’m going to try and knock out some of the kits that I’ve started and just put aside, as I won’t really be in a position to pick up much Gunpla going forward until I’ve secured new employment, or start doing small things on the side for Gunpla money.  I certainly have plenty of backlog to go, but unless there are some awesome releases going forward, I think my  last purchase will be the Shin-Musha Mk. II for the time being.

Oh, you know how women eat a tub of ice cream when bad things happen?  For Gunplar’s, we just buy  more Gunpla!

5 thoughts on “An American Bum in Tokyo

  1. 2nd that on the Shin Musha mark 2 being the last one for a while. I think that may be like last big purchase for sometime. glad to hear youre getting away though while you have the chance. theres always an upside to these things my friend! My mother couldnt have been happier when she got laid off last year. now she had a reason to focus on what she really wanted to do! good luck man.

  2. Have a safe and pleasant trip mate. Make sure you take time to enjoy yourself and smell the roses. Try not to worry about the job situation while you are away so that you come back inspired, refreshed, confident, and most importantly positive. I’m sure there will be plenty of opportunities for someone with your skill set, experience, and professionalism.

    Best of luck mate. If you find yourself down my way feel free to drop in and say G’day. 😉

  3. All the best! Now’s a good chance for a break before getting back to the hustle and bustle of life. Enjoy your vacation!

  4. Wish u all the best too. Is good to take a little breather to think things over & to refocus your career path. It is probably good for your health too. =) Glad to see you posting again.

Leave a Reply

