The State of the Gunpla Union – 090209

Well, August came and went by faster than expected. In the end I ended up being much busier than expected, which has put me behind on a lot of fronts. Getting up to date…

My Twilight Terror Sinanju is coming along, maybe around 75% done. Was hoping to finished it by this weekend to submit it to Dengeki’s Gunpla Grand Prix, but it looks like I’m not going to make it. Status is that I’m working on the thrusters, and over half the water slides on the frame are done. Just need time to finish that and top coat it and the main body will be done. After that weapons…

While the backlog is building (and I need to update the list) I’ve not really moved on building anything else. Little bit of Gunpla burnout/overload?  Outside of December, the rest of the year’s releases have been pretty much announced, so I’m set on the HGUC Kshatriya and maybe the PG 00, but everything else is going to be a pass in my book. I don’t see what they could release in December that would beat out the PG, so now just need to figure out if my budget can afford it…

As for the PP 00 Raiser, considering that the first run swag is limited to a stand and a password that let’s you then buy clear parts, I’m not calling that a deal breaker at the price of well over $250. In fact, I’m kind of shocked that after giving you clear parts for the Astray, they want you to turn around, buy the much more expensive 00 Raiser, and on top of that ask you to pay most likely another $40~50 dollars more for clear parts. Bandai, seriously, give the fans a little love here!

Photodumps – Got three or so planned, loving the new Pen, and getting back into taking photo’s has meant I’m getting out of the house more. This is a good thing, of course. We like sunshine, and exercise, yes we do.

Unfortunately, things continue to be fairly busy in both work and weekend life, so updates will continue to be slow for a while…

5 thoughts on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 090209

  1. I didn’t know the score with the clear parts. Thanks for that. Seems a bit rubbish but it’s probably a bit early to say.

    I think there will be a lot of cost involved in producing this kit for Bandai. Let’s break it down:

    Astray RF + bonus set was ¥12000 in the stores from memory.
    00 Raiser will be ¥18000 in stores I’m estimating.

    If the 0 Raiser takes about half as much plastic to produce as the kit itself, which is not an unreasonable assumption given it’s bulk, then the pricing is accurate.

    I’m also hearing that batteries are included (about time!), and that GN drives come preassembled (WTF?), plus it has a stand. The first ever 1/60 scale stand from Bandai AFAIK which is exciting in itself as many of us have yearned for an action base suitable for our 1/60 Gunpla.

    So if all of this is indeed accurate then having to pay extra for the clear parts is Bandai having to do it that way to not reduce their GP %.

    Either that or they’re taking advantage of our gullible willingness to spew cash at every fantastic release. ^^;

  2. actually both the PG Skygrasper & PG Strike Rouge + Skygrasper combo kits (and Strike + SG C3 2006 Limited if you want to get technical!) came with a display stands 🙂

  3. Yeah, I was going to say, those pg’s came with a stand. This new stand looks like the current stand actually with just another part to hold of the Raiser part…

  4. Hey man, sorry to have posted so many times, but I was wondering if you sell the 1/100 00 gundam raiser designer edition? If you do please quote the price in US$ and your exact location of the store. Looking forward to your reply. Send me a mail.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

