The State of the Gunpla Union – 062309

Well, after my short vacation to China, it was right back to work, so I’ve not had time to really get back into the kits.   I have indeed finished up the HGUC Hi-nu kit, but I need to finish trimming off some sprue leftovers from the fin funnels, as well as panel line it.  I’m a little delayed on doing this for a variety of reasons.  The ultimate reason, as always is that work is demanding long hours, and so I’m pretty much coming home and sleeping.  The next reason is that I ended up having one of my wisdom teeth pulled this weekend, so I pretty much slept through the weekend and the pain.  Lastly, and for those in Japan, (Buster and GG for sure) we’re in the rainy season, which makes it pretty much a crappy time to even think about top coating or using anything with sprays.

Anyways, I’m fairly back up to speed, but again no top coating anything for a few more weeks at least.  I’ll finish panel lining this week and get the fairly short WIP and pictures up by the weekend.  I had also been building the Zeta Plus kit off and on, and it’s near done, but this is a kit that screams for panel marking, as the pretty much all off-white design aside from the orange is really bland looking. 

For upcoming projects, I’ve got a few ideas of things I want to do, but need to get past the rainy season before I can start experimenting with spray painting again.  So, until then, most likely going to do snap builds of some kits (do a few more of my army of Zaku’s I guess). 

In non-Gundam news, I managed to go see the new Transformers movie (twice!) over the weekend despite the headache induced from ripping teeth from my jaw, and enjoyed it.  As someone said to me, it’s not the most intellectual movie, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying it immensely.  I almost want to look for an Optimus Prime or Jetfire kit, or figure, it’s just that most of the toys out there look like utter crap…  Ah well…

Back to the travel front, having knocked Beijing off my list, I’ve still got to head over to Shanghai, and specifically Hong Kong, but have start looking into trips to Vietnam, Korea  and/or Bangkok.  Figure while I’m here, might as well travel.  The plus side of the crappy economy is that the travel prices have bottomed, so why the hell not.  Any recommendations on places to visit in Asia?

Lastly, some choice shots from my trip to Beijing.  I went to the following places, and had a great time.
Saturday:  Ming’s Tomb, the Great Wall of China, the Palace of Heaven, Sanlitun Bar Street
Sunday: The Summer Palace, Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and the night market at Wangfujiang.

10 thoughts on “The State of the Gunpla Union – 062309

  1. You may have a one day window coming up to get some coating done. If you have time, that it. 😉 Where are you located? Where’s Plamo? Maybe we should arrange some kind of group get-together/build. Gundammmm!

  2. You’re in Saitama right? I use to live up on the Tojo line by Shiki. I’m in Yokohama now though (work in Tokyo). Definitely think it would be cool to get a group of the Gaijin Gunplar’s together for something, representing at Odaiba with the giant Gundam? Buster (Plamo) is in Nagoya though I think.

    If we have a day this weekend I’ll topcoat the HG Hi-nu then, just got to finish the panel lines. Panel lining a 1/100 is bad enough, 1/144 is a pain in the ass now thogh!

  3. Plamo is in Nagoya. Toii! I definitely will be hitting Odaiba in July to check out the 1/1 scale monster. There’s a long weekend in July, perhaps something could be arranged around then.

  4. Well. I thought we were due for some good days but apparently yesterday only existed to mock me. I did do some small spraying last night in the darkness. Good things too because this morning it’s pouring.

    p.s. in my previous comment, the sentence should read, “Plamo is in Nagoya? (questions mark)”

    hehe

  5. GG: Definetely think we could have something there for July. Buster, you making the trip to see the 1/1 Gundam? 😉

    And yeah it was pouring down this morning, makes the morning commute very icky. 😦

    Guest: Coming back, as in permanently, or just to visit? I’ll be heading back to the states early next year for a wedding, and much needed pizza and taco bell.

  6. Man..I wish I can have a get-to-get-her with you guys to do some gunplas… Too bad I am way out here in the states. BTW I had Taco Bell today (my favorite fatty food), but what I wouldn’t give for those chinese bugs on a stick…

    nice to read your state of the gunpla union as always.

  7. Hah, I realize we have two GG’s, so it’s going to have to be GaiGun, and GunGuy.

    And I would trade you 4 scorpions on a stick any day for a chalupa and a stuffed burrito.

  8. Good update, can’t wait to see how Hi-Nu turned out! Also interested in what you’re planning with spray paints, taking gunpla and making them your own in terms of color and whatnot is always a good time.

Leave a Reply

