The State of the Gunpla Union – 012509

Welcome to my weekly recap of well, the week.  Covering everything from Gunpla to just what’s on my mind.  Since I can’t post every day, hopefully this will at least let me cover some of the points of the week.

First up, on the Gunpla front, I did end up picking up the new Zeta Gundam HD along with some other things.

stuff01

As you see I picked up the new copy of the Dengeki Hobby, to apply for their 10 year anniversary contest.  I picked up the last two issues as well (and still haven’t even opened the two Gunpla figures that came with them).  Also, I picked up a new alarm clock, which they showed on Mezamashi TV the other day, basically it’s a railroad crossing, but it’s freakin loud, so I’m sure it will wake me up (and as well as the people next door!)  Lastly, I found a neat little Choro Q set of the Yamanote line, and picked that up, it’s pretty neat.

Also, yesterday I finished making the FAZZ, and I have to admit, I was less then impressed with the overall product.  While I’ll finish out the contruction posts for the FAZZ, one thing that was frustrating was the suprising amount of left over parts.   I end up putting my spare parts into a zip lock for each kit, because you never know what I might be able to use them for in the future.  Thanks to FAZZ I’ve now got an extra Gundam head and feet at the least!  For the time being it’s completed, and I’ve forgone doing the panel lining and seals for the time  being.

fazz27

For the time being it’s completed, and I’ve forgone doing the panel lining and seals for the time  being.  After the frustrations of the FAZZ, I decided to move onto something a little rewarding and started on the Shin Musha Gundam yesterday.  I have to admit it’s a really nice kit so far, and will definitely be doing the panel lining and seals for this one, but more on that when I finish up the FAZZ posts.

musha01

Anyways, thanks to getting the new HD version today, I now have 3 Zeta units on my back log as you can see below. 

stuff04

After I finish the Musha Gundam I should probably do one of the Zeta’s…  Speaking of back log, I just picked up some more Gunpla from my current source, and those should probably show up tomorrow, will post again when they arrive.  But the current stack currently looks like this.

stuff05

 Currently you see three Zaku’s there, but that will increase again tomorrow…

Anyways, in non Gunpla topics, I hit Akiba on Friday, but one of the frustrations of going on a weekday after work is that there isn’t much time to look around.  Unlike other parts of Tokyo, such as Shinjuku , Shibuya, Roppongi, and so on, Akiba is a part of Tokyo that closes promptly as 8 for the most part, outside of Yodobashi.  Then again, the only thing I’m really scouting for is cheap figma and gunpla, but Akiba’s pretty much not the place to do that any more.   Also, with the fact that maids aren’t allowed to hang out in front of Akiba station due to station renovations, it’s just not the same.

In other Japanese news, Japan has been pretty Obama crazy this week, and I have to admit I’m there with them.  Despite the worsening economy, I’m hoping that Obama will bring the Change that he has promised.  It was worth staying up until 2 AM here in Tokyo to see his speech though.  I certainly am looking forward to his visit to Japan (and seeing how they manage to drag him to Obama city in Japan)  The growing opinion is that Japan needs someone like Obama to take the lead here, rather than the closeminded politics of the old.  The downside is I hope that they keep those god awful comedians that impersonate Obama away from him when he eventually comes to visit. 

Anyways, this is the idea I’ll be going along with for my Sunday post, so let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

