Gunpla Construction: FAZZ part 1

I’ll start my construction series with the current model I’m working, while also trying to backtrack and go over ones that I’ve finished recently.  So, without further ado, here’s Gunpla Construction: FAZZ part 1.

Please note that I’ve actually just been taking pictures with my cell phone rather than my main camera.  But, Japanese phones are nifty and mine has a 5 megapixel camera, so at least these aren’t too crappy.

I’m going to start off with the current progress, as I haven’t had a chance to work on it since last week.

FAZZ01

This is right when I got started.  The FAZZ construction starts from the arms.  Unfortunately I realized this is the only picture I took.

FAZZ02

I forgot to take a picture of the arms after construction, but here are the feet and lower legs.  I found this part to be actually rather frustrating.  If you notice the upper part of the leg, the ovally looking thruster area, the inside has the only screws in the kit, out of which I stripped 3 of 4.  As this is an older kit (2001~?) a lot of the parts actually fit well together, almost too well, that I’m afraid I’m going to snap pieces trying to get them together.

FAZZ03

The legs with the upper thigh attached.  As this is the Full Armor ZZ, there is even more armor to go over the legs, but I’ve not attached them yet.  Unfortunately, the FAZZ’s feet are rather narrow which mean they don’t stay upright very well.

FAZZ04

Having grown tired of the main contruction, I skipped ahead and built the backpack.  As you see compared to my hand it’s fairly big.

Going forward I’m going to try and take better pictures of the actual construction.  Hopefully I’ll get some more work in this week depending on how early I get home from work.  I kind of want to knock this one out, as the construction is not as smooth as recent kits (Zaku Cannon, for example.

Leave a Reply

